Field Hockey Rules: Advantage allowed v Advantage gained

Edited 26 April 2017

http://fieldhockeyforum.com/threads/is-a-high-save-receiving-an-aerial.42626/

The above FHF umpiring thread wandered into yet another contentious area and into the making statements I am going to disagree with.

The reasoning and conclusions of both of the posts below are incorrect because they conflict, for different reasons, with Rule instructions and with common sense.

The above scenario describes a player trying to lob the ball over the keeper and then closing on the keeper to try to play the ball again ( I’m assuming, I think reasonably, that the rebound off the goalkeeper’s chest did not travel horizontally as far as the lob shot the attacker made – and the attacker, after shooting, did then close the distance between himself and the goalkeeper) . This is a contravention of Rule 9.10. – an encroaching offence –  the ball is a falling raised ball and the attacker is a same team player, in fact the player who raised the ball. I need go no further. Free ball to the defending team.

If the above statement is taken to be general and not about the specific incident described above, potentially much more convoluted situations are being described and we wander into the application of the Advantage Rule and into what should and what should not be considered to be an offence.

The statement I take issue with is “No advantage is possible because of the attacker’s subsequent offence” I take it that Nij means that the umpire cannot apply advantage in relation to a goalkeeper’s dangerous play offence because the attacker, whom the ball has been played into by the goalkeeper, has committed a ball-body contact offence.

The question arises: – Can a player the ball has been dangerously played into, be said in all circumstances, to have committed a ball body contact offence which should be penalised? I think the answer (with the exception of incidents which occur during encroaching) is “No” because if it is “Yes” the Rules (particularly Umpires 2.2.b  – below) are then contradicted and a conundrum is created

A look at the Advantage Rule, part in Penalties, but most of which is contained in advice and  instructions to umpires under the heading Applying the Rules.

12 Penalties
12.1 Advantage : a penalty is awarded only when a player or team has been disadvantaged  * by an opponent breaking the Rules.

*This actually means when an opponent has committed an offence because the complete list of circumstances necessary for the award of penalty, which follows the above statement, in every case refers to an offence – and not just a breach of Rule – as reason for the award of the specified penalty.

Umpires

1.4 Umpires must :

e    apply the advantage Rule as much as possible to assist a flowing and open match but without losing control.

Applying the Rules

2.2 Advantage :
a      it is not necessary for every offence to be penalised when no benefit is gained by the offender ; unnecessary interruptions to the flow of the match cause undue delay and irritation

b    when the Rules have been broken, an umpire must apply advantage if this is the most severe penalty

c    possession of the ball does not automatically mean there is an advantage ; for advantage to apply, the player/team with the ball must be able to develop their play

d    having decided to play advantage, a second opportunity must not be given by reverting to the original penalty

e    it is important to anticipate the flow of the match, to look beyond the action of the moment and to be aware of potential developments in the match.

So rather than (sic) “the umpire cannot apply advantage because of the subsequent  ball-body contact by the attacker“, the Rules say an umpire must apply advantage following such a dangerous play offence by a goalkeeper if playing advantage is the most severe penalty available. Advantage was the most severe penalty available in the above instance because the attacker had an immediate opportunity to control the ball and shoot at the goal and score. To suggest that the playing of advantage by the umpire following the offence by the goalkeeper in this case (and others similar to it) gives or creates an advantage for the attacker and that therefore the ball-body contact by the attacker is an offence, contradicts the umpires instructions and decision and sets up a nonsense (that the umpire’s decision to allow advantage creates an offence by the player the advantage was allowed to by the umpire).

The simplest and I think most sensible approach (one that could be explained to a child) is to state that where a ball is played dangerously by one player into another, the player hit with the ball cannot (except where there has been an encroaching offence) have committed an offence and, if possible and also if to the advantage of the team of the player hit with the ball , play should be allowed to continue. 

This could be expressed as an exception to Rule 9.11 or as part of a restored Forcing Rule.

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s